• A-
  • A
  • A+

The Department of Public Health Dentistry formerly named as Community Dentistry was functioning under the Department of Periodontics. First time PSC has called for the vacancy of Lecturer in Community Dentistry in the year 1996. Since the Department was not independant at that time, the vacancies were open for all with BDS qualification. In 2009, PSC has called for the vacancy of Lecturer in Community Dentistry separately. Since no candidate with MDS qualification has applied for the post, Lecturers with BDS qualifications were appointed. Dr. Smitha L Rajeev has joined in the Department as Lecturer in the year 2010.

                  The first milestone achieved in the Department was the Mobile Dental Van which came into existence in the year 2013. The Department became independant in the year 2014. In June 2015, Dr. Shony Mohan was appointed as Lecturer in the Department and Dr. Smitha L Rajeev was transferred and posted to GDC, Kozhikode. In April 2017, Dr. Shony Mohan was transferred to Priyadarshini Institute of Paramedical Sciences. Since then, the Department was run by faculties and Senior Residents on contract basis. Dr. Athira S  joined the Department as Assiatant Professor in March 2018 who is the first faculty with MDS in Public Health Dentistry to take over the charge of the Department. Dr. Chancy U joined in August 2018 with MDS in Public Health Dentistry qualification.

                Inauguration of the indepependant Department was done by Sri. V.S. Sivakumar, Hon’ble Minister for Health, on 21st December 2015 presided by Sri. M.A. Vahid MLA in the presence of Shri. V.K. Prasanth (Hon. Mayor, Thiruvananthapuram), Dr. K. Ellangovan (Health Secretary), Shri. Biju Prabhakar IAS (District Collector), Dr. Remla Beevi A (Director of Medical Education) and Dr. Prasanthila Janam( Principal, Govt. Dental College, Thiruvananthapuram). The Department Museum with specimens, models and charts came into existence in the year 2014.MORE...